Primary Blogging

Collecting blogs about primary education

A Positive Meeting with Tristram Hunt

Leave a comment

cherrylkd

Yesterday I braved foul weather and an incredibly busy M6 to attend a meeting with Tristram Hunt, Shadow Education Secretary at his constituency office in Stoke-on-Trent. We were a small group of Edu-tweeters which I think helped to focus the conversation. Tim Taylor (@imagineinquiry) Debra Kidd (@debrakidd) Lee (one half of @thought-weavers) and myself were the attendees.

Prior to the meeting all I knew of Mr Hunt was his declaration that teachers should be urged to take a ‘Hippocratic Oath’ and also that there would be a teacher MOT every few years under his leadership. I was unimpressed by both of these suggestions so had crossed him off in my mind as a useful Education Secretary. When the opportunity came to meet him I jumped at it because I wanted to see what kind of a man could suggest these things.

We began by asking him his vision for education…

View original post 925 more words

Leave a Reply

