Primary Blogging

Collecting blogs about primary education

Stop Me If You’ve Heard This One Before: Defining Threshold Concepts in Literacy

Leave a comment

Whatonomy

This blog is inspired by a couple of brief exchanges on Twitter between myself and the esteemed Michael Tidd, Jon Brunskill and Tim Taylor:

I’d previously blogged about defining Big Ideas in primary literacy, read around a little and began to ask my more informed colleagues on Twitter whether they knew of any work being done in primary. Michael was particularly encouraging, saying that nothing was being done that he knew of, but that it sounded like the right track to be going down. So I attempted to sketch out what I thought were some threshold concepts.

It quickly became apparent that my attempts were really no better than anything a policy wonk in the Department of Education would come up with. My ideas were based on…

View original post 3,408 more words

Leave a Reply

