Primary Blogging

Collecting blogs about primary education

Need to Know

Leave a comment

The Diary of a Not So Ordinary Boy

I did something yesterday that I haven’t done for a very long time.  It was stupid, really, and I knew I shouldn’t have done it the moment I clicked on the link.  I read an article about the health of people with Down’s Syndrome.  Now, you’d think, what with me being a ‘knowledge is power’ kind of person that I would be constantly reading everything I could find on the condition, but it’s not something I have done since the very early days.

Back then, when I was in the hospital awaiting the results of tests, low muscle tone was instantly obvious.  I found out that babies with Down’s Syndrome carry a 50% chance of having a heart defect.  Because this was the thing that was preventing our escape from hospital and necessitating a visit to a regional centre for a scan, I picked it up pretty quickly.  I also…

View original post 918 more words

Leave a Reply

