Primary Blogging

Collecting blogs about primary education

Don’t tell me what I do!

Leave a comment

Primarily Teaching

I *hate* being told what I do. Not what to do, I don’t mind that. But people saying, ‘This is what primary school teachers do.’ It’s invariably bollocks, but even if it wasn’t, I’d still hate it. Even when I agree with it, it annoys me. Generalisations suck.

These are some of the charges levelled at primary teachers about ‘what we do’:

Capture

Now that I’ve got that off my chest, I should say that I really think it shouldn’t have to be like this. Point-rebuttal is not a helpful way of discussing education (sorry about that) – largely because everyone’s experience is so different, and what appears to one person to be a cast-iron truth (e.g. my assertion that we have good discipline) is another person’s outlandish assertion. It doesn’t work.

Now, I am one of those not-actually-at-all-rare-whatsoever people who thinks that good discipline and teacher-led instruction is probably the best way…

View original post 339 more words

Leave a Reply

