Primary Blogging

Collecting blogs about primary education

Why I don’t teach my children

Leave a comment

The Diary of a Not So Ordinary Boy

One of the Dilemmas of Modern Parenting that gets up my nose the most are the subtle, or not so subtle, comparisons.  It starts everso innocently, while we’re all asking each other when to start with the solid foods, wondering when they will sleep through the night and what their first words are, and before you know where you are, you are caught in the quicksand of parental competition.  You don’t mean for it to happen, but it does.

When Sam started school I was unknowingly protected from the whole thing – everyone knew that Sam was on a different track, and they knew me well enough not to want to hurt my feelings by boasting about the glories of their own children’s achievements when they knew that my son wouldn’t be getting anywhere near theirs for some time, if ever.  Either that, or they didn’t know me at all…

View original post 1,015 more words

Leave a Reply

