Primary Blogging

Collecting blogs about primary education

Cascade of Intervention

Leave a comment

The Diary of a Not So Ordinary Boy

I reckon that I had the longest written birth plan in History.  It started (not the birth plan itself, but the ideas contained within) when I was expecting Sam, my firstborn.  After my long stay in hospital as a child, and the following years of blood tests, x-rays, scans and general check-ups, I had successfully avoided such places (if you don’t count my wisdom teeth) for some time, and now here I was, with doctors and midwives and consultants fussing fussily.

I, like many of my ilk, joined the National Childbirth Trust (NCT) first pregnancy round  partly because my friend Heather told me to) and it was there that I learned that, if I wasn’t careful, something called a ‘cascade of intervention’ could well happen to me.  Basically it means that once you intervene in the birth process, an epidural for instance, then it becomes more likely that something else…

View original post 1,049 more words

Leave a Reply

