Primary Blogging

Collecting blogs about primary education

Gimmick, fad or tool: Why do I rely on lollipop sticks?

Leave a comment

Improving Teaching

Lollipop sticks are so simple: small cards, with every student’s name written upon them, used to nominate respondents.
What makes me believe they’re an invaluable teaching tool?
And why are they so contentious?

CIMG6952

I’d swear by lollipop sticks and hate being without them, but having used them for years I’ve never written about them.  They have been condemned as a faddish excrescence of AfL by David Didau, Joe Kirby and Tom Bennett, whose 1200 words critique I came across recently.  Much as I respect all three, I think this misunderstands their power.  A post explaining how I use them and why I think it matters formed itself in a colleague’s lesson recently – this is it.

How do lollipop sticks work in discussion?

(An idealised case):

1) Students prepare an answer to an open question.  They write ideas on mini-whiteboards and may talk to partners, preparing an answer to a…

View original post 1,086 more words

Leave a Reply

