Primary Blogging

Collecting blogs about primary education

The Art of Compromise

Leave a comment

The Diary of a Not So Ordinary Boy

“compromise is the refuge of the unprincipled” David Didau, Learning Spy

I wasn’t quite sure what to think when I read this statement.  David is, like me, a teacher, and, as such, I think I understand what he means.  If, as a teacher, I compromise on matters of neat handwriting, spelling, numbers in squares, behaviour, stopping when I say when we are doing PE or at the swimming pool, I am doomed.  But, the thing is, as I am not just a teacher, as my life is littered with compromise, I’m not so sure I agree.

I never had to compromise, really, before I had my Sam, if you don’t count the sort of compromises that all married couples make, but his birth ushered me into a whole new world.  Nothing went to plan when he arrived.  It seemed to be going that way, but when push came to shove…

View original post 1,013 more words

Leave a Reply

