Primary Blogging

Collecting blogs about primary education

Should the removal of levels lead to “best practice”

Leave a comment

Chrismcd53's blog

I take no credit for this thought – it was the thought of somebody else on twitter – but I can’t remember or find who. The person who thought it pondered whether the removal of levels would mean schools would find OFSTED inspectors who disliked their chosen system of assessment and criticised because of this. (I use dislike to mean an emotional response to the system rather than considering how effective it might be.)

I’ll hold my hands up – I liked levels, I certainly thought them no worse or better then any other system moreover they were understood by all in the profession. Were there inconsistencies in application? Possibly – but I don’t see how a new system will improve matters.

On the plus side a profession which I care about deeply has now been given the opportunity and the responsibility to devise a system which accurately describes a…

View original post 205 more words

Leave a Reply

