Primary Blogging

Collecting blogs about primary education

The Ofsted report – Part II: What’s it like being inspected as a teacher (and as a middle leader)?

Leave a comment

Improving Teaching

Five and a half years into my career, I’d never been inspected by Ofsted.  On a gloomy February Monday, that changed…  this post describes the inspection for me as a teacher and as a middle leader: what I did (and didn’t do), how Ofsted judged my lessons and my feelings about their judgments.

Monday (Day 0) – How did I prepare to be inspected?

We had appointed a new headteacher the preceding Friday, and were ready for a quiet end to the half term, a wish shattered by a brief lunchtime meeting.  The tone was tense yet light; someone did say “This is the moment we’ve all been training for,” (but it was me).  I taught period 5, then began reviewing my plans for the next two days, joining the Acting Head while she updated the SEF and crunched data for a bit of mutual support.  I wandered around the…

View original post 2,107 more words

Leave a Reply

