Primary Blogging

Collecting blogs about primary education

The Ofsted report – Part I: “Why don’t you wear a helmet?” A great metaphor for our inspection?

Leave a comment

Improving Teaching

As I cycled home, a driver pulled out of a side-road directly in front of me.  Until I see evidence to the contrary, I assume all drivers are drunk, stupid or short-sighted, so her move came as no surprise and I braked in good time.  When I caught up with her at the next mini-roundabout, she said she hadn’t seen me – an open road, a flashing light and a luminous yellow top having proved insufficient – and drove off.  As I shouted “An apology would be nice” after her, a jogger rounded a corner and called out, “Why don’t you wear a helmet?”  It was the end of the second day of our Ofsted inspection; something connected in the part of my brain which files anecdotes for blogs: this is a great metaphor for our inspection.

Photo: Fir0002/Flagstaffotos Photo: Fir0002/Flagstaffotos

The jogger knew nothing about me – had no idea of my cycling…

View original post 556 more words

Leave a Reply

