Primary Blogging

Collecting blogs about primary education

Is Traditional the new Progressive?

Leave a comment

littlemavis

The first thing that irritates me about all of this is simply the labels used. For a start, surely if there are supporters of new methods of teaching that becomes progressive? (I have the same trouble with post-modern. It’s just a contradiction in terms)

Anyway, that’s something of an aside. What I’ve really been pondering is why I am so bothered by the push for “traditional teaching” including all of the imparting of knowledge, teacher talk and discipline. For one thing surely it’s far easier than all the hoops teachers have been made to jump through in the name of pleasing Ofsted. I actually prefer to be taught that way. Nothing makes my heart sink more than being made to do role-play or group work when I’m being trained. I just want to be told stuff, make notes then go away and sort it all out. I also rather liked…

View original post 540 more words

Leave a Reply

