Primary Blogging

Collecting blogs about primary education

Interviewing the Head Teacher

Leave a comment

Class Teaching Tips

I’ve been thinking a lot about ‘context for learning’ lately.  A lot of my present teaching is done through schemes, so finding that way to make the writing task ‘real’ has been a challenge.  One recent task that was on the list was to write a biography of David Beckham.  Thanks to the fact that my Y6s didn’t really know who he was (read this and weep Mr B!), I could see that this writing task was going to be one of those where the blood didn’t exactly ooze out of the stone.  So, after a little thought, I settled on asking my boss if he would consent to be interviewed so that the children could write a biography of him instead.

I have used this technique before, and, provided they have a heads up, as it were, it has usually been successful.  My bosses through the years have consented…

View original post 163 more words

Leave a Reply

