Primary Blogging

Collecting blogs about primary education

Our Solutions to the Problems with Guided Reading

Leave a comment

mrspteach
Originally posted on MrsPTeach.com:

When I blogged here about some resources I’d made to brand the reading AFs, I promised a blog post about how and why my year group had abandoned the traditional method for teaching reading.  The idea came from my wonderful year leader, Rhoda, so she has written this to share our reasons and method.

If you’d have asked me 18 months ago about the most effective way to teach reading across the primary phase I would have, without a doubt, talked about Guided Reading. I had always taught reading through this approach, it was just the way we did it. In fact, I was such an advocate that when I Ied English across my school I encouraged other colleagues to do the same. I’ve now changed my mind.

It was a conversation with a teacher at a TeachMeet Sussex meeting that got the cogs whirring. I heard him explain how his school had been advised not to do Guided Reading Sessions during OfSTED as it would be difficult to show progress which was above Requires Improvement. If that is the case, why is this still our chosen method of teaching?
 
These are my main issues with Guided Reading:
 
Author: Michael Tidd

Deputy Headteacher of a primary school in Nottinghamshire, but originally from West Sussex.

Leave a Reply

