Primary Blogging

Collecting blogs about primary education

Words

Leave a comment

Stack of Marking

Words are, to a greater or lesser extent, my business. They’re responsible for putting food on my family’s table, a roof over our head and doing that neat little trick of translating my interior world into exterior code. They are handy little blighters bless ’em.

If you asked me what my job was and I had to boil it down into a tasty little soundbite (and there are swathes out there who think they can do this, usually whilst wearing a suit, an earnest smile and daggers in their eyes) I would say that I try to teach people not to abuse words. I hate to see them mistreated so I try to teach my students not to do it. Once they can do that they can go on to find the right ones that will give clarity, meaning, and perhaps a little bit of poetry to their thoughts. I live…

View original post 567 more words

Leave a Reply

