Primary Blogging

Collecting blogs about primary education

Slow Down. Wait. Watch.

Leave a comment

The Diary of a Not So Ordinary Boy

I thought I’d start by telling you about a wonderful person who entered my life when Sam was about four months old.  I didn’t invite her round.  I can’t even remember how exactly she came to be there.  Somehow she ended up on my sofa, drinking my tea, and Sam and I ended up on her caseload.  Now, today, she is my firm friend.  Then, she was our Portage Worker.

Back then, when everything around me seemed out of control, Portage, and the gift of that friendship, was one of the many things that helped me regain equilibrium, to be the mother that my boy needed me to be.  Back when he was four months old, there wasn’t much more to be doing for him other than the feeding, sleeping, changing thing, but that meeting gave me something all teachers love.  It gave me a list, somewhere to aim for…

View original post 1,041 more words

Leave a Reply

