Primary Blogging

Collecting blogs about primary education

Re-(licensing/validating/invigorating) the profession*

Leave a comment

Distant Ramblings on the Horizon

This post started out as a comment on @johndavidblake’s excellent blog this morning, but then it got too long and I thought, what the hell, why should he get all the hits.

I came into teaching late, in my early thirties. I’d already had one career as a chartered accountant, a successful one. But I was, as I told friends who asked why I was leaving, in danger of turning into an accountant if I stayed much longer. That was not how I saw myself. So I left and retrained as a teacher. I joined another profession.

But it was very, very different, and that is the lens I see this current discussion through about re-licensing, re-validation or whatever you want to call it. There were a number of things I simply could not understand.

Firstly, and most obviously, if I was a professional, where was my professional body, the…

View original post 883 more words

Leave a Reply

