Primary Blogging

Collecting blogs about primary education

Stormy weather

Leave a comment

teaching personally

One of the positive things about the edu-blogosphere is that it seems relatively free of the acrimony that blights much other online discussion. I have no wish to change that – but my post yesterday brought forth a couple of negative comments (both surprisingly off-line) accusing me of something approaching educational nihilism. Maybe it’s the atmospherics we’re presently experiencing (or just the end of the holiday blues?)…

Before I go further, I should also point out that by naming head teacher Geoff Barton, I was not getting personal – it was simply that he used a widespread phrase/concept that I consider particularly unhelpful when it comes to furthering education. I hope no offence was taken.

The always-thoughtful Pedagogueinthemachine made a surprising observation this morning: he/she is worried that the new Ofsted observation guidelines will in effect leave teachers foundering in the classroom regarding what they should do to achieve those…

View original post 1,138 more words

Leave a Reply

