Primary Blogging

Collecting blogs about primary education

Did a Teacher Change Your Life?

Leave a comment

The Diary of a Not So Ordinary Boy

I occasionally read articles in the newspapers where famous persons (I hate the term ‘celebrity’, as if being famous is somehow to be celebrated) write/talk about the teachers who made a difference to them in their formative years, and I, as a teacher, always feel slightly guilty.  The thing is, I don’t remember any one teacher having an enormous effect on my life; indeed, I can’t remember many of them at all.

Actually, that’s not true.  I can remember the ones I didn’t like, and those who taught the lessons I didn’t enjoy.  Oh, how I hated Spanish!  I worked really hard in Geography because I didn’t want to attract the attention of the teacher, because he smoked cigars and I hated the smell and the way he breathed all over me when he came to my desk to answer my question.  I remember the primary teacher me and my…

View original post 1,349 more words

Leave a Reply

